The Supernatural Call

 Raising Lazarus

The ability to hear the call of Jesus introduces the important question of how a sinner, described as “dead in the trespasses and sins” (Eph 2:1-3), can actually hear Jesus’ call. The gospel accounts describe the human response to that call, but in the greater context of New Testament it is clear that hearing the call of Jesus requires a supernatural work of God – what is typically defined as regeneration or effectual calling. The Westminster Shorter catechism defines this specifically as a “work of the Holy Spirit” that enables us to “embrace Jesus Christ freely offered to us in the gospel.”

What is Discipleship? – Stephen Smallman

About John
A follower of Christ and sinner who needs his grace everyday.

4 Responses to The Supernatural Call

  1. Siew-Leng Willis says:

    ‘By grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not by works, lest any man should boast.’ (Eph.2 v 8,9). In my own experience, when I first heard the gospel, I was angry with John 14 v 6: Jesus said, I am the way, the truth and the life, no one comes to the Father, but by me. Have I been living a lie being brought up in a Taoist family? The Holy Spirit was definitely at work in me, stirred me to seek the truth. I had no rest until the Lord found me, praise Him. A friend gave me Rev. 3 v 20: Behold, I stand at the door and knock, if anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and sup with him, and he with me. I opened the door of my heart and invited Jesus into my life. Such joy and peace, and Jesus became real and alive in me. This could only be the work of the Holy Spirit. Eph. 2 v 1 – 3 is true. I was living in darkness, unknowingly following the devil, oblivious of God’s love and being disobedient, until the Holy Spirit convicted me of my need for my sins to be forgiven by the Saviour Who died on the cross for me. Jesus is alive because of the resurrection. I accept this truth because of God’s love and His supernatural work by the Holy Spirit Who continues to dwell in me and give me the faith to accept God’s true Word.

    • JF says:

      I love what you said, “The Lord found me”. I was in the same condition. I thought I was the seeker for a long time until I understand later in my walk that I was dead (Eph 2). Dead people cannot respond to anything. I was not sick, I was dead spiritually. Natural man cannot seek God. If I seek God, I would have something to boast about but all the glory falls on God alone. God is the seeker, God is the sustainer, God holds everything in his hands. When I realized this truth about God seeking me, my pride was shattered and my heart was full with gratitude for my salvation. PTL!!!

  2. Brian says:

    I can think of the first time I heard the preaching of the word of God. It would be at the funeral of my cousin who died of cancer at 7. It was in a small church in Southern Ky. All I remember was “come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden…Matthew 11:28. It sticks out to me after all these years but It never impacted me until a couple years ago. I heard the Gospel several times as a teenager but never got the inward call, I never knew why I needed to come, I never really knew I was a sinner to the core. Yea, I’d heard it said we are all sinners but never knew how bad that meant I was, that my heart was deceitful above all and desperately sick. Jeremiah 17:9, and that God see’s the wickedness of man, the intentions of the heart and how the very thoughts of mens hearts are continually evil. Genesis 6:5
    Sounds bad huh? What type of person would admit this? What type of person would say they are wretched?, What person will say I am a sinful, filthy person who is lower than a worm?
    It takes the opening of the mind and the breaking of the heart for us to really see it and only then can we in faith look unto the cross and come, and gladly come, not just saying, “Ok, ill try to do better or “ok I’ll follow you in your prayer.” But, only when we are drawn can we come to Christ. Once we are drawn we realize which way we were headed, then in full speed with a shout as the man named “Christian” in John Bunyan’s The Pilgrims Progress we come.
    Many hear the outward call, many even like to hear it, many even hold it close to them but see no change in their life. Only when we really hear the inward call, the life changing call will we be changed.
    “If your life hasn’t been changed by the Gospel It hasn’t saved by the gospel.”
    Praise God for the inward call and working of the Spirit, Because if not for that work I’d still be dead in my sin. If not for that miracle of His changing my dead heart that was inclined only to sin I would still be dead in my sin. Even now, that same spirit keeps me and holds me, thank God because I know I am completely prone to wonder off like a dumb sheep.
    When God sets Himself to saving a person from the pit He does so and that is the only reason we hear the gospel and repent. I would have never done these things unless I had been changed inwardly by the supernatural call, and I know this was not something I did.
    “For It is the power of God unto salvation for everyone who believes….”

  3. Brian says:

    “Did God call me on account of my holy life? Or on account of my pharisaical religion? Or on account of my prayers, fastings, and works? Never. Well, then, it is certain God did not call me on account of my blasphemies, persecutions, oppressions. What prompted Him to call me? His grace alone.” The commentary of Galatians 1 by Martin Luther.

Leave a Reply

