On Personal Bible Study – Tim Challies

This morning is one of those mornings I struggled to read God’s Word with passion and with enthusiasm. I managed to get through it. During times like this, I am reminded of my depravity.   Paul makes this so clear to me in Romans 7:17-19 ESV: [17 ] So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. [18 ] For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. [19 ] For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. These verses bring comfort to me in 2 ways: 1. my dependant on God’s grace everyday to persevere and 2. knowing that I go to war on my flesh everyday gives me an assurance of my salvation.  

I thought the following post “On Personal Bible Study” by Tim Challies is worth reading for all of us who had “one of those mornings” like I had!

My knowledge of Scripture is nowhere near encyclopedic. However, I am quite sure that if I were to sit back today and read the Bible from cover to cover I would not find a direct command from God saying “Thou shalt read the Bible daily.” I would not find a guide to personal devotions and I wouldn’t find chapter and verse requiring daily quiet times. However, neither do I need to have that kind of explicit command in order to understand the value of spending time every day reading the Bible.

When I think about the area of daily Bible study I find my mind drawn to the issue of assurance of salvation—whether or not a Christian can be certain that he is saved. I think I am led this way because the Bible is so central, so integral to the Christian life, that to feel no love for it, no desire to study it, must be a sign of spiritual sickness. I would certainly never say that a person who does not want to study the Bible or who does not enjoy studying the Bible is not a Christian. But I would venture to say that the Christian life is so dependent upon Scripture that a person who has no regard for the Bible and who shows little interest in it would have good reason to seriously consider his salvation. Such a person would do well to examine his soul to see if he really has come to know the Lord.

Let’s look to just a few reasons why we, as Christians, should desire to know and study the Bible….. finish reading here

About John
A follower of Christ and sinner who needs his grace everyday.

One Response to On Personal Bible Study – Tim Challies

  1. Brian says:

    What a great post!! I have know exactly what Tim is talking about, but it’s those times, maybe once or twice week, that while in my daily read i step into to story and truly feel I’m worshiping and not just reading. Why can’t it always be that way? Well, sin is why. Just like Romans says it’s no longer I but the sin that dwells in me. I pray before my read and pray that God will soften my heart to see the glory of the Gospel every day, to cause conviction of hidden sin and and give me u understanding. It’s usually the days I don’t expect it when I really feel the spirit, and what a boost it is. Praise Him, not me. Thanks KBC Life U !!

Leave a Reply

