2 New Book Reviews

Review by Trevin Wax:
40 Questions About Interpreting The Bible: by Robert Plummer.

An oft-quoted word of wisdom about seminary education goes something like this: Don’t take classes. Take professors. In other words, the teacher makes the class. Find the teachers you want to learn from, not just the classes that look interesting.

For my first semester at Southern Seminary, I decided to take Hermeneutics (the art of interpreting the Bible), hoping it would give me a firm foundation for biblical interpretation throughout my seminary years. I wound up in the class of Dr. Robert Plummer – a young-looking professor with a quirky sense of a humor and a genuine love for the Scriptures. Though I took more than 90 credit hours of classes at SBTS besides Hermeneutics, the initial class with Plummer remained one of my favorites.

Now that I am serving in a church, I have often longed for a concise, easy-to-read primer on Hermeneutics that I could draw from for my teaching. I don’t have to wait any longer. Dr. Plummer’s book, 40 Questions About Interpreting the Bible (Kregel, 2010) is, quite frankly, the best Hermeneutics resource that I’ve come across……. read more @Trevin Wax 

Review by James Grant
Tullian Tchividjian, Surprised by Grace: God’s Relentless Pursuit of Rebels. Crossway, 2010. 192 pages.

One of the benefits of the current “gospel-centered” movement is a realization that the Old Testament proclaims the gospel. It is crucial for the church, and for her ministers, to preach and teach the stories of the Old Testament from the perspective of the good news that runs as a stream throughout the Scriptures all the way to the cross and then throughout the world. I am thankful for the work of writers, preachers, and teachers who have been witnesses of this model of interpretation, such as Edmund Clowney, Sydney Greidanus, Graeme Goldsworthy, Bryan Chapell, and Tim Keller to name a few.

Tullian Tchividjian’s book Surprised by Grace: God’s Relentless Pursuit of Rebels joins this movement of gospel-centered interpretation of the Old Testament by examining the Book of Jonah….read more

About John
A follower of Christ and sinner who needs his grace everyday.

Leave a Reply

